Daily Prompt: Showdown At Big Sky.

How do you handle conflict? Boldly and directly? Or, do you prefer a more subtle approach.

I’ve always kept my feelings regarding conflicts, inside me; for fear it would ruin friendships. I was always good at it, but realised that it lacks honesty. Technically it’s lying by omission. Rather than slipping into the shadows of refusing to handle conflicts, I’m learning to be more assertive. But it’s so tough.

I’ve always been worried about what others will think of me. As nice as it is to say to yourself you always stand up for what’s right – and you’ll intervene when people are in trouble – that rarely happens. With me, I guess I’m between self-preservation and protecting people I care about. This usually results in a net gain of: zero.

Oh well, at least it’s better than a negative outcome. But there’s a big gap between wanting to do something right and actually doing it. I’m still crossing the bridge.

This post is a reply to: Daily Prompt: Showdown at Big Sky.

 

Leave a Reply

