Daily Prompt: Take Care

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

What does  it take for me to ask for help? A lot. It takes me a lot. I don’t like asking for help. I used to be even worse at it. You can accept you need help but the gap between acceptance and actually popping the question is enormous.

Truth be told, asking for help has not made me feel like a stronger person. I’ve realised this is a myth. Asking for help felt exactly the way I thought it would make me feel: completely useless on my own. I only realised that feeling completely useless is okay. It’s okay to feel pathetic, because our huge egos put us on a pedestal. We start thinking crazy things like:

“I can do this on my own!”

Yes you can, but for how long and how successfully?

“I am a lone warrior.”

We are lone warriors, not alone warriors.

“Ride till I die”

Which actually means: “ride till I collapse on my bed and cry because life just got pretty f*cking hard”.

giphy

My point is: you will need help. Life will smack you in the face. It is okay. And yes; certainly at some point you will feel hopeless and think: ‘oh why couldn’t I stick it out alone?!’. Then remember that no one can do everything alone. No matter how much you resist and claim to be the lone soldier you are.

tumblr_ny87go8nBI1uw765ko3_500

Soldiers fight in platoons, remember?

 

This post is a response to: Take Care

Leave a Reply

