Melody

Melodies are lovely. But they can be heart-wrenching too. A simple arrangement of notes can bring back a memory. But you don’t get to choose what memory it brings back. It may be good. It may be bad. Either way, you get a barrel of emotions. I like this film: The Holiday. It’s one of my favourite films, and definitely one of my favourite rom-coms. I love Iris and Miles and he just got her. They clicked and didn’t get together straight away. It was a wait that was worth it. They got to know each other, and fell in love. In the movie, Miles says: “Iris, if you were a melody… I used only the good notes”. It makes me melt and then bawl my eyes out. He captured her perfectly in a song. I’m just feeling really emotional, lately. Really depressed and alone, and yeah. Just that. I went to London yesterday on some road-trip with my dad to dump some luggage there for the new academic year. That means 4 hours on the journey back, of me being in charge of the music. And you know when that song comes on that makes you look introspectively out the window as the hills roll by. Yeah, we had about fifty of those. Let’s just say I needed a strong cup of tea when I got back, and someone to talk to. It’s strange what melodies can do, and the power they hold to take you back to a specific moment in time.

The Holiday, melody good notes

This is a reply to Melody.

Leave a Reply

